jump to navigation

Using Nokia Phone as a Modem to Browser Internet with Mac OS X Leopard (tethering) October 7, 2008

Posted by asimag in E71, MacBook Pro, N73, N95, N95 8GB, Nokia Symbian, OS X Leopard.
trackback

Update: July 2009

I have moved this Blog to new Address:
http://macandmobile.blogspot.com/

Please post comments on new Blog. I will disable further comments on this blog.

Thank you

Asim

With Leopard My Nokia E71 and N95 some times tether correctly and often it does not work. It Connects and then suddenly Disconnects. The status in top bar continue to display Disconnecting…. until I boot it.

In the event of emergency when I wanted to connect my Mac OS X (Leopard) with Nokia to browser internet or check my emails, it often does not work.

So here is the simple solution:

As Leopard Default Nokia 3G/GPRS script does not work for me. It has problems. You need to download Ross Barkman’s Script from his site. Just scroll down to Nokia Section and download Nokia 3G (EDGE/UMTS) Script or click this link to download. Copy the script whole folder into your RootDrive>>Library>>Modem Scripts Folder.

Just pair you Nokia as usually you do from Bluetooth Icon in the top. Follow the instructions in Wizard and check both isync and use as a modem checkboxes.

When wizard finishes goto System Preferences>> Network >> Bluetooth (Select from Left).

Click on Advance. Click on Modem and then Select Vendor as Other.

In Model Select Nokia 3G CID1 script

Dial Mode should be Ignore Dial tone when dialing

Leave the all other settings as it is. Click OK to return to previous screen.

In telephone type your APN. I use warid. Also remember to put APN in your mobile Phone (Tools>>Settings>>Connection>>Packetdata>>Accesspoint). You can also check this site for Access Point Name.

Also check “show modem status in menu bar” and click apply.

Now you can connect with your mobile internet by clicking on telephone icon on top. No more problems for me.

Comments»

1. Jerry Crockford - October 26, 2008

Hi,

Thanks for that article. It works great.

Sometimes, (Camping on a weekend for example) I can’t easily get to a power source, and would prefer to connect my MacBook to my E71 via USB, so as to consume less power than by BlueTooth.

I got it to work.

But alas…

It only worked ONCE. 😦

A few days after setting it up, I tried again, but when I click on ‘connect’, the Mac tries briefly, then an INTERNET CONNECT alert appears on my Mac, saying “The selected communication device does not exist. Please verify your settings and try again.”

Hmmm….

I tried the Nokia Multimedia Transfer software connected by USB, and the “Device Browser” works fine, so the E71 IS connected OK using PC Suite. But for some reason, the Mac can’t see the E71 and connect through it as the modem.

Weird? As I said, it did it just fine the other day.

I haven’t changed any settings from when it DID work, and being a tek-nik-kal dim-wit, I don’t want to try anything in case I stuff it up.

A couple of other clues…

1. It works fine when I connect via Bluetooth.
2 The drop down menu shows the E71 on the list, but it is GREY, so not available.

So how can it be that the E71 IS connected with PC Suite — but the ‘connect’ thingy in System Prefs > Network thinks it “does not exist”? If you have any thoughts, I really would appreciate it!

Thanks!

Jerry

2. Menno - November 6, 2008

Thanks for the tip! I had the same problem with a Nokia N82 on Leopard. How can I use my data cable for tethering? That still doesn’t work.

3. Dale - December 16, 2008

That works great via bluetooth! Thanks

4. Ad - December 26, 2008

Thank you

5. Michael Tavernaro - July 16, 2009

Hi,

I am trying to send a fax from my Macbook (10.5.7) via Nokia E71.
So far no success.

Do you have maybe an idea, how I could do it ?

Thanks very much.

Michael

6. Nuri - August 25, 2009

Thank you !..
It works for me too, via Bluetooth.

7. n - March 14, 2010

So where is this ‘telephone icon’ you refer to connect to the internet?

I can’t find it sorry.

8. Henk Poley - February 28, 2011

Snow Leopard keeps trying to add my N73 as a network interface. If I let it, it will add another interface whenever I plug it in.

Do you know how to disable the USB modem/networking on the phone itself? (or maybe in Snow Leopard)

9. Deb - June 4, 2014

Thanks a lot for sharing this with all people you
actually recognize what you’re talking about! Bookmarked.
Please additionally visit my site =). We may have a link change arrangement among us

10. how to configure best cable do you need a modem for - July 19, 2014

Normally I don’t read post on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and do
so! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thanks, quite nice post.

11. how to configure best comcast best best modem for xbox live - August 21, 2014

What’s up everyone, it’s my first pay a visit
at this site, and piece of writing is in fact fruitful for me,
keep up posting such content.

12. how to configure best cable how to configure modem zyxel - August 25, 2014

You can definitely see your skills within the work you write.

The arena hopes for more passionate writers
like you who are not afraid to say how they believe. Always go after your heart.

13. how to configure best arris best cable modem for comcast - August 29, 2014

Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.

Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest
writing a blog article or vice-versa? My site addresses a lot
of the same subjects as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other.
If you are interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.
I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent
blog by the way!

14. how to configure best best docsis 3 buy cable modem for comcast - August 30, 2014

What’s up, every time i used to check web site posts here in the early hours in the daylight, for the
reason that i like to gain knowledge of more
and more.

15. how to setup billion modem - August 30, 2014

Hey, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.

When I look at your website in Ie, it looks fine
but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has
some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
Other then that, wonderful blog!

16. how to configure best best comcast best comcast modem for - September 2, 2014

It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to
be happy. I have read this put up and if I may just
I wish to counsel you few fascinating issues or tips.
Perhaps you could write subsequent articles regarding this article.

I wish to read more issues approximately it!

17. how to configure best comcast how to configure modems - September 2, 2014

I used to be recommended this website by means of my cousin. I’m not certain whether
or not this put up is written via him as no one else realize such certain approximately my problem.

You are incredible! Thank you!

18. how to configure best best buy cable modem for comcast - September 2, 2014

Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just your articles?
I mean, what you say is valuable and everything. However think of if you added some
great images or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”!
Your content is excellent but with images and clips,
this blog could undeniably be one of the best in its field.
Amazing blog!

19. how to configure best buy can i buy a modem for comcast - September 7, 2014

This website was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something which helped me.
Thanks a lot!

20. how to install bsnl adsl modem - September 7, 2014

Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with Search Engine Optimization? I’m trying to get my blog to
rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good results.
If you know of any please share. Cheers!

21. how to configure best best docsis 3 cable modem for comcast internet - September 9, 2014

What’s up to all, how is the whole thing, I think every one is getting more
from this site, and your views are pleasant in favor of new visitors.

22. how to configure best comcast best docsis 3 cable modem - September 9, 2014

My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different web page and
thought I should check things out. I like what I see
so now i am following you. Look forward to looking over your web page repeatedly.

23. how to configure best comcast how to configure modem streamyx - September 23, 2014

I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
Plz answer back as I’m looking to design my own blog and
would like to find out where u got this from. kudos

24. how to configure best comcast how to configure modem settings - September 26, 2014

Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just
sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing.
Do you have any recommendations for inexperienced blog writers?
I’d genuinely appreciate it.

25. how to configure best comcast best best dsl modem for xbox - October 1, 2014

Hey there! I know this is sort of off-topic but I had to ask.
Does building a well-established website such as yours require
a large amount of work? I am brand new to writing a blog however I do
write in my journal daily. I’d like to start a
blog so I can easily share my own experience and feelings
online. Please let me know if you have any kind of ideas or tips for new aspiring
bloggers. Thankyou!

26. Micheal - October 12, 2014

Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this blog.

It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard
to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appeal.
I must say that you’ve done a fantastic job with this. Also, the blog loads very quick for me on Opera.
Outstanding Blog!

27. rovine the excellence riviera maya cancun - May 21, 2016

Hi to all, the contents existing at this web site are really amazing for
people experience, well, keep up the good work fellows.

28. tarquinio il superbo diferentes razas humana - August 10, 2016

Nice response in return of this matter with real arguments and describing the whole thing about that.

29. sting englishman in new york mp3 - October 10, 2016

I’m amazed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s equally educative and engaging, and let me tell you, you’ve hit
the nail on the head. The problem is something not enough men and women are speaking intelligently about.
Now i’m very happy I found this during my hunt for something concerning this.


Leave a Reply

