jump to navigation

iPhone Files (AppStore) and iFile (Cydia) Complete File Browser and Viewer April 22, 2009

Posted by asimag in Files, iFile, iPhone.
trackback

You can also visit my new Blog www.nextworldmobile.com (Android – Nexus Users)

I have tested various viewers for iphone including Air Sharing, Mobile Studio, Riddle Documents, Picture Safe etc.

I found the best Viewer and File Browser is “Files” which is available at App Store. You can Swap pictures as in built in Photos Application for iphone, create your own folders to arrange your documents and picture and can easily transfer file from your PC or Mac. You can even set password.

The Cydia app iFile is replacement for Finder or Windows Explorer on your iPhone. You can copy/move files to anywhere. You can set owner permission. iFile also allow you to transfer files through its Web Server also. With iFile you can create new Folders or Symbolic link. I have created a Symbolic link in Documents folder to my Files Documents, so that now I can easily copy files to Files Application or vice versa using iFile.

Best part is iFiles also allow you to send multiple email attachments using built in iPhone mail client and it is FREEEEEE.

iFile is exceptional Browser will all abilites which Files is best viewer, although iFile also allows you to view documents or play videos but Files Picture swap feature is hard to beat.

iFile also allows to create Zip archive. I now use iFile instead of MobileFinder. iFile also allow you to copy marked files or folders.


Comments»

1. Erik S - June 25, 2009

Well, iFile is a nice thing. However, trying to attach files in mail but they don’t show up/attach in mail. It worked for a while copying everything I wanted to attach to the DCIM (pictures) folder but under 3.0 I can’t get it to work at all. Perhaps I’m missing something…

2. Gse - June 27, 2009

Same problem here. 3g, 3.0 os, jailbroken redsnow, etc.
Ifile performs all advertised functions very well. However, it will NOT actually attach any file to an email. Launches email just fine but there is no attachment. Have uninstalled and reinstalled, rebooted, installed various recommended plugins. No joy.

Somone.. - November 24, 2010

Well, i dont know what to say. I have 3.1.3 3G Spirit jailbroken, and i tried to email my friend a backgroung song of an app, for a project. It worked fine. After i tapped “send” i wait it to go off and closed IFile and went to Email. It was sending…

3. Generalinq - June 28, 2009

Same problem too.

4. Generalinq - June 28, 2009

This used to work on 2.2. Although I was never able to send a video or large file like a 15 Meg video from cycorder. It used to hang.

5. Ryan - August 8, 2009

Alright, maybe u culd help but how do you attatch videos to an email?

6. Ryan - August 8, 2009

Just saying that. How does it attatch anyting?

7. Dimitris - November 26, 2009

Hi where can I install ifile for free in my iPhone 3g jb 3.2.1

Jon - February 23, 2010

Try again on the FW bud, 3.2 isn’t out yet and will probably never be

8. teks - January 28, 2010

my file is asking for a username and password. what should i put?

9. Carlos - January 31, 2010

If anyone needs help, add me on facebook, email me (thad4rkone@hotmail.com), etc.. Any help at all.

The user name is “root” and the password is “alpine” ***Without the quotations***

10. Carlos - January 31, 2010

You can install iFile via Cydia.
Try adding any one of these sources and search iFile, look for the cracked version.

Sources:
cydia.xsellize.com
sinfuliphonerepo.com

*ADD THE SOURCES BEFORE YOU SEARCH*

11. Tal - March 10, 2010

Protect your iPhone – Change the default root/alpine password.

To all – that default root & password needs to be changed if you’re hacking/extending your IPhone. If not you might be vulnerable.

IPhone users need “secure” their phones after “opening them up” to add the cool stuff… you need to choose a different root/ other than leaving it at the “default” of root/alpine.

If you Jailbreak, and run software that provides you access, such as OpenSSH or any other software that allows you access to your phone, the same default root/alpine password is on any iPhone, not just yours. So pick a new password and change to that one. If not, it’s possible someone within WiFi range might be able to access your iPhone and all your files using the default root/alpine login.

More info: Cydia page, read about OpenSSH and changing the root/alpine password. All instructions are there.

And write down the password you change to and save it somewhere safe.

T

12. Jenkins - March 16, 2010

An alternative, with no “search for cracks” hassle: just get the *free too :)* FileApp (or FileApp Pro, it’s free for a limited time, they say)…
and from the same guys, DiskAid accesses the iPhone via USB (so without SSH http://www.digidna.net/products/diskaid

13. DemonD - March 17, 2010

yup i use diskaid, i guess im just new to this whole ssh thing, but i could never figure it out, so i stopped trying. Diskaid is terribly slow though. I love iFile, i just wish there was a program for windows to handle webDAV other than IE or Firefox (Is there?).

14. KP - May 19, 2011

How about how to find Pages.app files via ifile(cydia)? I can find the app files. But none of the documents! Maybe I am a nube.

If Pages hides the documents somehow is there any other word processing app that you can pull out the edited documents through ifile

15. Johnny - June 1, 2011

Cyberduck for Windows is free, and handles webDAV along with a slew of other protocols.

16. Julie - February 22, 2012

I have cydia and open ssh and ifile. I am new to this whole thing, but my ultimate goal is to get music from my 4th generation ipod touch to my computer. My itouch no longer syncs to the computer and my music that was stored on itunes is gone because i had to get a new hard drive.
I can’t seem to get clear directions anywhere.

17. iphone ringtone converter - September 23, 2012

Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking
back often!

18. book hotels cheap - December 16, 2012

Hello, the whole thing is going nicely here and ofcourse every one is sharing data, that’s actually excellent, keep up writing.

19. Montgomery County Aggravated Assault Attorney - February 24, 2013

I like your great blog posts! High-quality expertise regarding
arrest search broward county florida. Thanks for posting.

20. Samual - March 10, 2013

It is vital to become familiar with these treatments to assure that you are in a position to retain your choices open when looking for methods to raise your energy.
Growth hormone supplements have develop into well-known mostly among bodybuilders and athletes.
Quite a few#!!#individuals suffer from low energy levels because they are taking
drugs that can result in this circumstance.Fruits and vegetables can be fantastic sources of
power.The supplement targets the pituitary gland with all all-natural herbs and minerals, forcing it to produce more
human growth hormone and slow down the aging approach.

21. Zane - April 18, 2013

Simply wish to say your article is as amazing.
The clearness to your publish is just spectacular and that
i could think you’re knowledgeable on this subject. Fine along with your permission let me to seize your feed to keep up to date with drawing close post. Thanks 1,000,000 and please keep up the rewarding work.

22. best cane corso breeder - May 3, 2013

I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. ItÌs pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be much more useful than ever before.

23. THE SIMPSONS TAPPED OUT HACK - June 24, 2013

For several weeks now, visitors to Universal Studios Florida have been able to dine on genuine dishes from the Simpsons’ hometown of Springfield. The Simpsons is a Matt Groening classic comedy cartoon that almost everyone has seen. As for the second step, the one about making a decision to be physically fit, that deserves a check mark on my to-do list as well.

24. breast actives reviews - June 26, 2013

What’s up to every single one, it’s genuinely a fastidious for me to go to see
this site, it consists of helpful Information.

25. ทีวี digital - July 19, 2013

Hey there! I’ve been reading your web site for a long time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Houston Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the excellent work!

26. youtube views increase - July 21, 2013

Hi Dear, are you in fact visiting this web site on a regular basis,
if so then you will without doubt obtain nice experience.

27. Zachery - July 26, 2013

Hi to every one, it’s really a good for me to pay a visit this site, it consists of valuable Information.

28. get free dragonvale gems - August 7, 2013

You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find
this matter to be really something that I think I would never understand.

It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

